Skip to content

Appeal to Heaven IS NOT a blog about politics…

February 21, 2009

How’s that for a headline, eh?

When it comes down to it, what issues are really worth writing about? I’m would agree that discussing the news of the day, certainly has it’s purpose. However, when topics turn to politics (especially in the blogosphere), I have noticed a trend. People from either side of the political spectrum tend to write and talk in a manner that is best described as ‘insider baseball.’ Basically, most political writers argue under the assumption that you (the reader) already understand their fundamental philosophy or worldview. For most people, I don’t believe this is actually the case. In fact, I think that this assumption usually drives people away from political discussions. (By the way, I am totally guilty of this, and I apologize to anyone I have brow-beaten in the past with this assumption)

Ultimately, with that approach you end up with this:
internet_argument

…or something similar.

Appeal to Heaven is an attempt to take a different tack. My goal with this blog is to provide you, whatever your political leanings, with a resource for understanding a conservative world view. (In my experience, conservative ideas often aren’t totally obvious and take a bit of groundwork to establish.) The point of this blog is not, again –IS NOT- to make you agree. Neither is this blog an attempt to paint anyone who thinks differently as bad, wrong, or evil. There are plenty of places you can go if you want someone’s point of view bashed in your face. This won’t be that place.

In fact, this is the purpose of the comment area. If you share a different view, and at any point feel that your view is being misrepresented, or if my rhetoric becomes too harsh or in-your-face, let me know immediately! After all – Appeal to Heaven is an attempt to combat this very thing: the misrepresentation of conservative views by others.

Finally, you might be thinking – “Dude…barf, why care so much about politics? Isn’t there more to life?”

Could. Not. Agree. More.

This blog is not about which political party you should support, or who you should and should not vote for, or who’s the most patriotic…No! Can all of that.

At the end of the day, this blog is really about the philosophy of Liberty. This is a topic dear to me, that I feel most Americans (and perhaps people in general who have grown up in a free society) take somewhat for granted. Freedom is a precious gift that does not perpetuate itself naturally without effort. As Samuel Adams said:

The liberties of our country, the freedom of our civil Constitution, are worth defending at all hazards; and it is our duty to defend them against all attacks. We have received them as a fair inheritance from our worthy ancestors: they purchased them for us with toil and danger and expense of treasure and blood, and transmitted them to us with care and diligence. It will bring an everlasting mark of infamy on the present generation, enlightened as it is, if we should suffer them to be wrested from us by violence without a struggle, or to be cheated out of them by the artifices of false and designing men.

This, for me, is what is truly at the heart of conservatism – the preservation and defense of Liberty. And, I would venture to assert that this is truly at the heart of most Americans – whether they consider themselves conservative, liberal, or anything else. The problem, in my view, is that most people have not had a real opportunity to hear the philosophical arguments backing traditional conservative principals.

That is the goal of this site.

And….(hopefully) to convince you that I have not gone completely freaking off-the-rails crazy. HA!

Best Regards to you, the reader,

-adc

4 Comments leave one →
  1. stophate permalink
    February 21, 2009 9:54 pm

    Conservative principals seemed to be confused with fundamentalist christian principals. IMHO thats where the conservatives went off the rails. It was more important for conservative candidates to take the right side on abortion and gay rights than it was to keep the government small, keep taxes low and fight for individual liberty. I left conservatism behind because they seemed more interested in corporate rights than the rights of the american people.

  2. February 21, 2009 10:22 pm

    I am very sorry to hear that, and I agree -at least somewhat- with your sentiment – though it may be more accurate describing the Republican Party rather than conservatism as a whole. As a Christian myself, I don’t see true conservative philosophy as a religious agenda (though I certainly used to before I was conservative). To me, this is one of the key misconceptions, and something I will be writing about in the near future at length. If anything – people of religious faith should understand that for true Liberty to exist, people totally and absolutely must be free to pursue a belief system of their own choosing.

    Again – this is a huge and deep topic which I don’t have the time to properly addess now, though I will. I will keep your thoughts in mind also, when I do so.

    Thanks for your comment!

  3. Kath permalink
    February 26, 2009 12:39 pm

    Sounds like this will be a very interesting blog! I’m staying tuned :)

Trackbacks

  1. Introductions « Appeal To Heaven

Leave a Reply

