Skip to content

Introductions

February 18, 2009

Greetings,

I am a middle class web design and developer, living in Oregon. I decided to start Appeal to Heaven after my initial blogging endeavor gradually evolved from fairly random and silly topics, to mostly serious discussions on political issues. Eventually, as my interest and knowledge of political philosophy grew, I decided it might be appropriate to create an area devoted primarily to these issues.

As far as political perspective goes, I grew up with a fairly agnostic, or apolitical viewpoint. My parents didn’t really talk or seem to care about politics a great deal, so naturally, I viewed politics with disinterest. I was fairly content having no real viewpoint and actually kind of looked at ‘taking sides’ as petty, whether left or right. I had no positions. Or so I thought…

What little information and perception of political ideas I had formed, had primarily been created by the usual channels: Television, Movies, reading the newspaper, listening to NPR, and school. At the time, I viewed myself as completely Independent, characterizing the left and right as follows: Liberals were kind of crazy, but they had the best interest of the poor at heart, and they cared about the environment. Conservatives where mostly wealthy, big business corporate suits, hicks and rednecks, and Pat Robertson.

This all changed when I met my (now) wife, (aka. the fetching Mrs. ‘adc’). She had grown up in a fairly conservative home. Initially, whenever we discussed political topics I felt myself in sudo-disagreement with her – though I felt that really didn’t matter and continued to maintain that I was independent and had no opinion. What she said may have made sense – but I basically brushed it aside as what you might call ‘right wing propaganda’. Eventually, she started to ask me about my viewpoint on specific issues. More importantly, she ask me why I thought a certain way on a particular issue. On most of the issues in which I found myself disagreeing with her – I realized that I had no real reason for why I disagreed — I just did. As these discussions continued, I began to realize that I actually did agree with her reasoning, but I certainly did not want to call myself a Conservative. Whatever my position on issues, I certainly didn’t want to be lumped into the ‘Pat Robertson’ boat.

Still – these discussions sparked my interest in politics. I began reading things written by actual conservatives (something I had never done before) and libertarians (such as John Stossel). As I read and investigated, I suddenly realized that every viewpoint that I had about conservatives and conservative philosophy, had not been formed from actual conservative sources. Though I prided myself as Independent, I had developed very negative stereotypes of conservatives that I have come to learn are (for the most part) entirely false.

It only seems logical to conclude that the sources I mentioned above (TV, Hollywood, Public Radio, Newspapers, and School), while perhaps, not totally one sided – at the very least – tilted left enough to shape in myself false perceptions about conservative people and ideas.

Today I would call my viewpoints conservative. Unfortunately, by many – these viewpoints might be marginalized as crazy and extremely right wing (read: wingnut, right-wing kook, republitard, etc), and are usually written off as one, or all of the following:

  1. Homophobic
  2. Xenophobic
  3. Islamophobic
  4. Sexist
  5. Racist
  6. Intolerant
  7. Bigoted
  8. Hateful

I created this blog in an attempt to argue that they are not.

Therefore, in short – I am a Conservative, and a traditional Christian. Neither of which , as I hopefully can convince you, are any of the things in the list above. I think my faith is best summed up by this great quote from John Newton:

“When I was young, I was sure of many things; now there are only two things of which I am sure: one is, that I am a miserable sinner; and the other, that Christ is an all-sufficient Savior. He is well-taught who learns these two lessons.”

-John Newton

Now, obviously I don’t know everything, and I don’t entertain the idea that I have all things perfectly figured out. I would highly encourage anyone reading this site – to also consider opposing or different viewpoints as I do. At the very least, I hope through this blog you can get a decent understanding of what a conservative might believe, and why.

If you wish to learn more about this blog and it purpose, please read the Why Appeal to Heaven section (or: Appeal to Heaven is not a blog about politics…).

-adc

You can also find this information under ‘About the Authors.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

